Imerovigli is a traditional village and it is the extension of Fira but is situated on a higher cliff. It visual command of the whole area. In front of the village is located an enormous rock called Skaros. Until 1800, Skaros was part of the land and had a castle on it where all the administrative offices of the island were located. The village was almost totally destroyed with the earthquake of 1956, and the cliff-edge houses were abandoned but a tourist trade started up again in the 1970s. Today Imerovigli is a beautiful and quiet village and also one of the top areas in Greece for accommodation! The Church of the Panagia Malteza has a marvellous carved wooden screen with icons depicting scenes from the Old Testament. There is a path from Imerovigli caldera walkway to Skaros Rock and the Chapel of Panagia Theoskepasti.
Skaros was one of the five fortified settlements and the most important one. At that time it was referred to simply as ‘Kastro’ (castle in Greek).
The rock was inhabited in medieval times, because the fortress built there offered protection from pirates.
Skaros was the capital of Santorini until the 18th century, although evacuation of Skaros started at the beginning of the 17th century. The promontory at Skaros has been shaken repeatedly by strong earthquakes, particularly the one of 1650.